Researchers from the Australia-Indonesia Centre met for a bilateral workshop at ANU in July 2018.

A major focus of the Energy Change Institute is to disseminate information on energy change through outreach activities.

The Energy Change Institute collaborates and plays key leadership roles internationally. We have memoranda of understanding with the US National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL), CIEMAT (the Spanish renewable energy agency), the Industrial Technology Research Institute of Taiwan (ITRI) and Ecole Polytechnique (Orsay) in France. The ECI is also a member of the Australia-Indonesia Centre (AIC) and the Australia-Germany Energy Transition Hub.

Below is a selection of outreach activities conducted by ECI members in 2018.

International engagement

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Global Engagement) Prof Shirley Leitch and Dr Robert Margolis from NREL sign the MOU, in front of ACT Chief Minister Andrew Barr, February 2018.

L to R: Dr James Prest and Hikaru Hiranuma at the Japan-Australia Energy Dialogue, March 2018.

The Energy Change Institute signed an MOU with the National Renewable Energy Laboratory, United States recognising the growth in shared energy research between the two organisations. This relationship will lead to new knowledge and greater sharing of results on clean energy. Signed by Professor Ken Baldwin, the MOU was formalised in Washington DC and witnessed by ACT Chief Minister Andrew Barr. 26 February 2018. 

Dr James Prest, Professor Ken Baldwin and Associate Professor Llewelyn Hughes collaborated with energy law and policy researchers from three top Tokyo universities at a Japan – Australian Dialogue on Energy Policy & Regulation in Canberra. The workshop’s theme centered on redesigning energy policy and regulation to promote innovation and achieve deep carbonization in Australia and Japan. 22 – 23 March 2018.

Professor Ken Baldwin, Dr Lachlan Blackhall, Dr Matthew Dornan and Dr Igor Skryabin met with a delegation of officials from Papua New Guinea, led by the Minister for National Planning, Richard Maru, as part of an Independent Electricity Grids study tour. The delegation included civil servants from the Ministry of Planning, PNG Power, and others. Following on from this meeting the ECI is establishing linkages with the PNG University of Technology’s Sustainable Energy Research Institute. 18 July 2018.

The Australia-Indonesia Centre’s Energy Cluster concluded its four-year bilateral research program with workshops at the ANU and Monash University. Energy Cluster Co-Lead and Coordinator Dr Igor Skryabin was amongst 30 academics, students, government officials and industry representatives from Australia and Indonesia who came together to share research findings. 19 – 20 July 2018.

Associate Professor Penny King, Professor Wojciech Lipinski and Professor Adrian Sheppard were part of a team that hosted the Australia Academy of Science Elizabeth and Frederick White Conference “Frontiers in Gas-Solid Processes from the Atomic Scale to the Parsec”. The conference had a strong focus on the capture and storage of CO2 and attracted high-profile scientists worldwide. 5 – 7 September 2018.

Dr Igor Skryabin attended and chaired a session of the fourth Asia-Pacific Sustainable Energy Development Forum in Tianjin, China. The event was organized by the Asian-Pacific Sustainable Energy Centre (APSEC). Dr Skryabin is a Board Member of the APEC-funded APSEC. 20 – 22 September 2018. 

Professor Ken Baldwin was Congress Chair of the OSA Light, Energy and the Environment Congress held on Sentosa Island, Singapore, 5 – 8 November 2018.

Members of the Solar Thermal Research Cluster served in the organising committees of major conferences and meetings including SolarPACES, the Asia-Pacific Solar Research Conference and the OSA Light, Energy and the Environment Congress. Cluster members also hosted numerous international senior delegations from India, China, Japan, Indonesia and Nigeria, and guest speakers from MIT, Imperial College, Sandia National Laboratories, Politecnico di Torino and Tohoku University.

Industry engagement

Dr Joe Coventry accompanied the ARENA board on a site tour of the Neoen Parkes solar PV farm and the Vast Solar Jemalong concentrated solar power (CSP) pilot plant in April 2018, presenting to the board on challenges and opportunities for CSP.
Professor Ken Baldwin is a Board member of the South East Region of Renewable Energy Excellence (SERREE) including the ACT and surrounding areas.

Dr Igor Skryabin is a Board member of the Australian Photovoltaic Institute, an Advisory Board member of the APEC Asia-Pacific Solar Energy Centre in China, a member of the NSW Energy and Resource Knowledge Hub, and a member of the organising committee of 2016 Asia-Pacific Solar Research Conference as well as leader of the “Energy in the Asia-Pacific” research stream of the conference.

Professor Quentin Grafton is a member of FE2W (Food Energy Environment Water), an international, non-profit association with 40 members from universities, multilateral organisations and non-government organisations committed to addressing the world’s food, energy, environment and water challenges. 

Community engagement

Professor Andrew Blakers assisted a group of graduates for a project entitled ‘Small-scale hydropower in irrigation Graduate Industry Project’ in the Commonwealth Department of Agriculture and Water Resources. December 2017.

Dr Hemant Mulmudi took part in a science outreach program at Telopea Park School, Canberra, providing mentoring on a student-led project. July 2018.

Updated:  06 July 2020/Responsible Officer:  Director, Energy Change Institute/Page Contact:  Webmaster