ANU Energy Update 2019

Date & time

2 December 2019


Cinema Theatre, Cultural Centre, Kambri Precinct, ANU


Ken Baldwin
Ian Cronshaw
Audrey Zibelman
Alan Finkel
Tony Chappel


 Sarah Wilson
 + 61 2 6125 0946

The ANU Energy Update is the ECI's annual flagship event - a one-day summit that brings together energy researchers, policymakers, industry and the public to provide an overview of the latest national and international energy trends.

The day will feature presenters discussing a range of energy issues including global and regional outlooks, new technologies and the future electricity market.

This year's program includes:

Introduction by Professor Ken Baldwin, Director, Energy Change Institute, ANU

Keynote Address - Ms Audrey Zibelman, CEO, The Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO)

2019 World Energy Outlook - A special presentation by Ian Cronshaw, International Energy Agency (IEA), Paris

National Hydrogen Strategy

Presentation by Dr Alan Finkel, Australia's Chief Scientist

Followed by panel discussion and Q&A.

Future Electricity Markets Summit

Presentation by Mr Tony Chappel, Chief External Affairs Officer, The Australian Energy Market Operator

Followed by panel discussion and Q&A.

View the draft program of events.

Lunch and morning/afternoon teas will be included.

The annual ANU/ACT Government Solar Oration will follow on from Energy Update at 6pm in the same theatre (Cinema Theatre, Kambri). This year's Solar Oration will be delivered by Fleur Yaxley, a senior executive in the renewable energy industry. Finger food will be available in the foyer from 5.15pm. Register for Solar Oration here.

Energy Update 2019 is held in conjunction with the Asia-Pacific Solar Research Conference taking place in Canberra (3 – 5 Dec).

Kambri car park

There is a ticketless car park on the city-side of campus under the Kambri Cultural Centre. The entrance is near the Copland Lecture Theatre on Kingsley Street.

Updated:  14 November 2019/Responsible Officer:  Director, Energy Change Institute/Page Contact:  Webmaster