ANU Energy Green Paper Forum

Date & time

2–7.30am 15 September 2014


Leonard Huxley Lecture Theatre, Leonard Huxley Building [56], Mills Road, ANU


Professor Ken Baldwin, Director of the ANU Energy Change Institute
John Blackburn AO, Defence and National Security Systems Consultant to NRMA
Associate Professor Iain McGill, School of Electrical Engineering and Telecommunications, University of New South Wales
Colonel (ret) Neil Greet FIEAust, Engineers Australia
Jonathan Jutsen, Executive Director and Founder, Energetics
Clare Savage, Executive Manager Strategy & Corporate Affairs, Energy Australia
Dr Michael Smith, ANU Energy Change Insitute
Tony Wood, Energy Program Director, Grattan Institute


 Adhityani Putri
 +6125 6599

Industry, government and academic experts convenes to dissect the Energy Green Paper and discuss policy options for Australia's energy future.

Registration is required. Please click on this link to register.

The Energy Green Paper, scheduled for imminent release, is designed to set out a policy framework for Australia’s energy future.

How will it address the complex challenges to the current energy system? What options will be considered to optimise the supply and use of energy resources to meet demand, improve energy efficiency and, at the same time, keep energy prices low? How will the national energy markets cope with paradigm shifts in the supply and delivery of energy from competing sources?

To answer some of these questions, the ANU Energy Change Institute will convene a panel of experts from industry, government and academia to dissect the Energy Green Paper. The panel will discuss the key topics vital to a resilient and sustainable energy future, identify the strengths and weaknesses of the various policy frameworks, and explore possible recommendations.

Members of the Energy White Paper Task Force from the Department of Industry will be attending the forum.

Lunch will be provided and talk is followed by drinks and refreshments


12.00   Lunch

12.30   Energy Generation

Speakers: Ken Baldwin (ANU ECI) and Clare Savage (Energy Australia)

13.30   National Energy Markets (electricity and gas)

Speakers: Tony Wood (Grattan Institute) and Iain McGill (UNSW)

14.30   Afternoon Tea

15.00   Energy Productivity

Speakers: Jonathan Jutsen (Energetics) and Michael Smith (ANU ECI)

16.00   Transport Energy

Speakers: John Blackburn (NRMA) and Neil Greet (Engineers Australia)

17.00   Wrap-up discussion

17.30   Close



Updated:  20 January 2020/Responsible Officer:  Director, Energy Change Institute/Page Contact:  Webmaster