The ANU Climate and Energy Research Student Expo

Date & time

12–5pm 17 October 2013


Innovations Theatre, Innovations Building 124, Corner of Eggleston and Garran Road, ANU


Professor Lesley Hughes, Macquarie University


 Adhityani Putri
 +61 2 6125 6599


One of the goals of the Australian National University (ANU) Climate Change and Energy Change Institutes (CCI and ECI) is to build and support a cohesive, interactive community of researchers and educators at the ANU, and to promote knowledge transfer in all aspects of climate change and energy change. 

It is important to the CCI and to the ECI to support research students in these fields, as they are the future researchers, science leaders and policy advisers, resolving real-world problems and contributing nationally and globally to climate change and energy change solutions. For the last two years we have held an annual Student EXPO to bring together scholars and researchers to engage in thoughtful, stimulating discussion and to share perspectives and experience. This year the CCI and the ECI invited our colleagues at the ANU, University of Canberra and the Australian Defence Force Academy (ADFA) to participate in the EXPO and to profile the postgraduate research being undertaken at our universities.

This year, the Student EXPO will commence with an address by Professor Lesley Hughes from Macquarie University, and former Climate Commissioner. The EXPO will conclude with ANU/ACT Government The Solar Oration 2013* by Giles Parkinson, founder and editor of Below is the program:

12.00    Presentation by Lesley Hughes

13.00    Lunch

13.45     Student Presentations 

15.05     Afternoon tea

15.20     Student presentations 

16.35     Closing and move to The Hall

17.00     The 2013 Solar Oration presented by Giles Parkinson at The Hall, University House*

*Please RSVP at

There will be a Prize for the best presentation (poster or oral) comprising a certificate and a $500 contribution to attend a conference in your field within one year of the Student EXPO. 

Updated:  19 June 2019/Responsible Officer:  Director, Energy Change Institute/Page Contact:  Webmaster