2015 ANU Energy Update

Date & time

9.30pm 7 December – 7am 8 December 2015


H.C. Coombs Lecture Theatre, H.C. Coombs Building, Fellows Road, ANU


 Clare de Castella
 02 6125 0633

Presentations from the ANU Energy Update 2015 can be viewed and downloaded here.    View a compelling 2 minute video that encapsulates the key themes of this year's event. 

Energy Update brings together Australian researchers, policymakers, industry and members of the public to provide an update on the latest world energy trends.   As Professor Brian Schmidt outlined in his talk (available for viewing below):  "The Energy Change Institute is all about what universities are meant to do – they’re meant to take knowledge, they’re meant to teach people, they’re meant to learn stuff and they’re meant to work with the rest of society to take that knowledge and to disperse it."

Highlights included:

  •  Mr Ian Cronshaw from the International Energy Agency (IEA), co-author of the World Energy Outlook reports. Ian Cronshaw will present The IEA perspective on the World Energy Outlook 2015, which provides a snapshot of international energy trends.
  • Byron Washom, University of San Diego, as keynote speaker with a presentation on UC San Diego's Microgrid:   The World's Largest, Most Diversified Portfolio of Distributed Energy Resources.

Pre-registration is essential via Eventbrite


Time Presenter / subject Download pdf / View presentation on YouTube
8.30 Arrival and sign-in  
9.00 Opening Address - Professor Brian Schmidt, Nobel Prize winner and Spokesperson for the Mainau Declaration on Climate Change View presentation
9.30 Keynote address - Byron Washom, University of San Diego, UC San Diego’s Microgrid:  The World’s Largest, Most Diversified Portfolio of Distributed Energy Resources
Followed by Q & A session
PDF (9.27MB, some images have been removed to reduce the file size)
10.30 Tea and coffee  
11.00 WEO2015 theme - Renewables and energy efficiency
Introduction by the Chair, Professor Wojciech Lipinski, ANU
PDF (14.16MB)
11.05 Ms Alicia Webb, Clean Energy Council PDF (1.6MB)
11.20 Professor Andrew Blakers, Centre for Sustainable Energy Systems, ANU PDF (6.47MB)
11.35 Mr Lachlan James, ACT Government, Environment and Planning Directorate PDF (4.81MB)
11.50 Professor Alan Pears, RMIT University PDF (4.53MB)
12.05 Panel discussion and Q & A  
12.30 Lunch  
1.30 Special Presentation - by Mr Ian Cronshaw, International Energy Agency, The 2015 World Energy Outlook PDF (1.22MB)
2.30 Q & A  
3.00 Tea and coffee  
3.30 WEO2015 theme - Unconventional gas:
Introduction by the Chair, Assoc Prof Llewelyn Hughes, Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU
3.35 Professor John Williams, Adjunct Fellow Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU PDF (5.72MB)
3.50 Mr Damian Dwyer, Australian Petroleum Production & Exploration Association PDF (2.33MB)
4.05 Ms Nicole Thomas, Department of Industry, Innovation and Science PDF (1.94MB)
4.20 Mr Tony Wood, Grattan Institute PDF (1.5MB)
4.35 Panel discussion and Q & A  
5.00 Closing remarks - Professor Ken Baldwin, ECI Director  
5.15 Networking drinks and finger food  
6.00 Close  

Registrations are essential.

Updated:  30 May 2020/Responsible Officer:  Director, Energy Change Institute/Page Contact:  Webmaster