BSc Hons I, MSc - ANU; DIC, PhD - London; FAIP, FlnstP, FOSA, FAPS
Director, Energy Change Institute

Professor Ken Baldwin is the inaugural Director of the Energy Change Institute at the ANU, and Director of the ANU Grand Challenge: Zero-Carbon Energy for the Asia-Pacific.

Professor Baldwin has held the following appointments:

  • Deputy Director (Research), Research School of Physics
  • Deputy Director (Research), ANU School of Physics (2010- 2020)
  • Project Steering Committee for the Australian Energy Technology Assessment (AETA) of the former Bureau of Resources and Energy Economics (BREE, 2011-2013)
  • Board of the South East Region of Renewable Energy Excellence (SERREE, from 2014)
  • Socio-Economic Modelling Advisory Committee of the South Australian Nuclear Fuel Cycle Royal Commission (2015-2017)
  • Chair, Energy Cluster of the Australia-Indonesia Centre (2015-2018)
  • Chair, Energy Research Institutes Council for Australia (ERICA, 2018-2019)
  • Steering Committee for the CSIRO Hydrogen Research, Development and Demonstration Report (2019).

Professor Baldwin is an inaugural ANU Public Policy Fellow, and winner of the 2004 Australian Government Eureka Prize for Promoting Understanding of Science, for his role in initiating and championing “Science meets Parliament”. 

In 2007, Professor Baldwin was awarded the W.H. Beattie Steele Medal, the highest honour of the Australian Optical Society.  In 2010 he was awarded the Barry Inglis Medal by the National Measurement Institute for excellence in precision measurement.

Professor Baldwin is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, the Institute of Physics (UK), the Optical Society of America and the Australian Institute of Physics.

View Professor Baldwin’s ANU Researcher profile.