About us

Energy Change Institute (ECI)

The ECI provides authoritative leadership in energy research, education and public policy through a broad portfolio ranging from the science and engineering of energy generation and energy efficiency, to energy economics, regulation, security, sociology and policy.

The ECI comprises more than 300 staff and PhD students from all seven Colleges of the University, and over $100 Million in infrastructure and facilities, supported by a major portfolio of external grant funding.


A key solution to the challenge of climate change is a world-wide shift to low-carbon forms of energy.  Energy change that drives this transformation to a clean economy will also offer wider benefits to society by increasing economic productivity, and by improving energy access and security.

Technology and policy neutral

A defining feature of the ECI is that we are both technology and policy neutral. That is, we undertake research and education in key areas of energy technology and energy policy without favouring one particular area over another. This can and should create an open forum for good ideas leading to energy change.

Climate Change Institute

The Energy Change Institute is a close collaborator with the highly regarded ANU Climate Change Institute (CCI). The CCI supports a cohesive, interactive community of researchers and teachers at ANU, aimed at building a powerful capability to meet the climate change challenge, from basic science, through impacts and adaptation, to solutions based on economics, institutions and energy technologies.

Public policy

Energy change has important implications for the development of public policy, and the ECI has a key role to play in public policy in the national capital. 

In 2012, three ECI researchers were selected amongst the nine inaugural ANU Public Policy Fellows across the University:

  • Professor Ken Baldwin (ECI Director, College of Science)
  • Professor Andrew Blakers (College of Engineering and Computer Sciences)
  • Professor Warwick McKibbin (Crawford School of Public Policy, College of Asia and The Pacific)

Since then, a further two ECI Public Policy Fellows have been recognised:

  • Professor Quentin Grafton (Crawford School of Public Policy, College of Asia and the Pacific)
  • Professor Frank Jotzo (Crawford School of Public Policy, College of Asia and the Pacific)

Updated:  06 July 2020/Responsible Officer:  Director, Energy Change Institute/Page Contact:  Webmaster