Smart Grid and beyond: a modelling and control perspective

Date & time

12–1pm 6 September 2017


Computer Science and Information Technology Building, 108 North Road, Australian National University, ACT, 2601


Prof Xinghuo Yu


 Fiacre Rougieux
 02 6197 0114

Smart Grids are electric networks that use innovative and intelligent monitoring, control, communication, and self-healing technologies to deliver better connections and operations for generators and distributors, flexible choices for prosumers, and reliability and security of electricity supply. In this talk, we will present an overview of the recent developments in Smart Grids, especially in the modelling and control perspective.

Some of our recent projects and results will be shown as case studies. Furthermore, we will examine the global trend and challenges in Smart Grid and beyond, advocating a more holistic view towards energy supply, transport and use – a socio-cyber-energy future.

About Professor Xinghuo Yu

Professor Xinghuo Yu is the Associate Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research Capability) and a Distinguished Professor of RMIT University (Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology), Melbourne, Australia, He is also President-Elect (2016-2017) of IEEE Industrial Electronics Society.

His main research areas are control engineering, intelligent systems, and smart grids. He served/is serving as Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control, IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics, IEEE Transactions on Industrial Informatics, and IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems - Part I). He received a number of awards and honours for his contributions, including the 2013 Dr.-Ing. Eugene Mittelmann Achievement Award of IEEE Industrial Electronics Society. He was named a Highly Cited Researcher in Engineering by Thomson Reuters in 2015 and 2016. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, Institution of Engineering and Technology (UK), Australian Computer Society, Engineers Australia, and Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Updated:  15 November 2018/Responsible Officer:  Director, Energy Change Institute/Page Contact:  Webmaster