Energy Change Institute members shine at ANU Media and Outreach Awards

Tuesday 19 December 2017

Four ECI members were recognised for their important contributions to public discourse at the 2017 ANU Media and Outreach Awards announced last month.

ECI Director Professor Ken Baldwin, ECI Executive member Professor Andrew Blakers, and members Professor Frank Jotzo and Dr Christian Downie were joint winners of the Award for Improving the Quality of Public Debate. The award recognises the exceptional commentary all four researchers have provided in relation to the energy debate throughout the year.

Professor Andrew Blakers received a second honour - Impact Award for Reach and Influence. This award recognises the audience of several million Professor Blakers has reached through his commentary and research on potentially suitable sites for pumped hydro storage.

“A key part of the ECI’s mission is to disseminate the latest information on energy change through outreach activities, especially through engaging with the media,” said Professor Baldwin. “These awards acknowledge the exceptional work of ECI members in ensuring scientifically rigorous information informs public debate on the important issue of energy. 

“Professor Blakers’ Impact Award for Reach and Influence demonstrates that there is a big appetite amongst Australians to learn more about research into clean energy technologies and how this research can be applied in the real world,” said Professor Baldwin.

The ECI brings together academics from across the University’s seven Colleges. This multidisciplinary approach combines leading research and teaching on the technologies, efficiency, policy, law, sociology and economics of moving to a sustainable and dominantly renewable energy future.

For the latest ECI media commentary go to 'ECI in the media'.

Full list of ANU Media and Outreach Awards 2017.

Image gallery

Updated:  20 April 2019/Responsible Officer:  Director, Energy Change Institute/Page Contact:  Webmaster