ANU Energy Update 2018

Date & time

8.30am 29 November 2018


Copland Lecture Theatre, 25a Kingsley Street, Acton, ACT 2601


Ken Baldwin, Mark Butler, Ian Cronshaw, Marnie Shaw, Matthew Stocks, Llewelyn Hughes, Emma Aisbett


 Sarah Wilson
 02 6125 0946

The ANU Energy Update is the ECI's annual flagship event - a one-day summit that brings together energy researchers, policymakers, industry and the public to provide an overview of the latest world energy trends.

The day will feature national and international presenters from government, research and the private sector discussing a range of energy issues including global and regional outlooks, new technologies, energy security, energy access and energy productivity.

This year's program includes:

Introduction by Professor Ken Baldwin, Director, Energy Change Institute.

Opening address by The Honorable Mark Butler, Shadow Minister for Climate Change and Energy.

2018 World Energy Outlook (WEO) - A special presentation by Mr Ian Cronshaw, International Energy Agency (IEA), Paris.

WEO2018 focus theme - Electricity

Introduction by Chair, Dr Marnie Shaw, College of Engineering and Computer Science

Presentation by Dr Matthew Stocks, College of Engineering and Computer Science

WEO2018 focus theme - Producer Economies

Introduction by Chair, Associate Professor Llewelyn Hughes, College of Asia and the Pacific.

Presentation by Dr Emma Aisbett, Crawford School of Public Policy

Lunch and morning/afternoon teas will be included.

The annual ANU Solar Oration will follow on from Energy Update at 6pm in the same theatre (Copland) - This year's Solar Oration will be delivered by Ivor Frischknecht, former CEO of the Australian Renewabale Energy Agency (ARENA). Register for the Solar Oration here.

Please note that parking may be difficult - we strongly advise using public transport, taxi, cycling, walking or allowing plenty of time to find a park.

View ANU visitor parking map

Energy Update 2018 is hosted by the ANU Energy Change Institute and sponsored by ActewAGL.

Updated:  24 October 2018/Responsible Officer:  Director, Energy Change Institute/Page Contact:  Webmaster