ANU Energy Update 2017

The ANU Energy Update is the ECI's annual flagship event - a one-day summit that brings together energy researchers, policymakers, industry and the public to provide an overview of the latest world energy trends.

The day will feature national and international presenters from government, research and the private sector discussing a range of energy issues including global and regional outlooks, new technologies, energy security, energy access and energy productivity.

This year's program includes:

2017 World Energy Outlook (WEO) - A special presentation by Mr Ian Cronshaw, International Energy Agency (IEA), Paris.

Implementing the National Electricity Market Review - A keynote address by Dr Alan Finkel, Chief Scientist.

China’s Energy Outlook

  • Presentation by Prof Frank Jotzo
    Crawford School of Public Policy

China is a focus theme of the WEO2017.

Panel discussion

  • Dr Xunpeng (Roc) Shi, University of Technology Sydney
  • Mr Qiang Wang, Embassy of the P.R. China

Making Sense of Australian Gas Policy

  • Presentation by Prof Quentin Grafton
    Crawford School of Public Policy

Gas is a focus theme of the WEO2017.

Panel discussion

  • Dr Llewelyn Hughes, College of Asia and the Pacific
  • Dr Ross Lambie, Dept. of the Environment and Energy
  • Mr Damian Dwyer, Australian Petroleum Production & Exploration Association

Lunch and morning/afternoon teas will be included.

Registration for Energy Update is essential.

The ANU Energy Update will be followed at 6pm in the same theatre (Copland) by the ANU annual Solar Oration - The Australian Energy Transition by Ms Audrey Zibelman, CEO of the Australian Energy Market Operator. Register separately for the Solar Oration here.

Please note that parking may be difficult - we strongly advise using public transport, taxi, cycling, walking or allowing plenty of time to find a park.

Date & time

8.30am–5pm 29 November 2017


Copland Lecture Theatre, Building 25, Australian National University, ACT 2601


Dr Alan Finkel
Prof Ken Baldwin
Prof Quentin Grafton
Prof Frank Jotzo
Dr Xunpeng (Roc) Shi
Mr Ian Cronshaw
Mr Qiang Wang
Dr Llewelyn Hughes
Dr Ross Lambie
Mr Damian Dwyer


 Sarah Wilson
 02 6125 0946

Updated:  24 September 2017/Responsible Officer:  Director, Energy Change Institute/Page Contact:  Webmaster